Skip to main content

Plant Science Major

Plant Science Major

About Us

Plant Science Major is an interdisciplinary degree, integrating four core departments supporting the program (with more than 150 talented and dedicated faculty combined!):

In addition, two affiliated departments provide key coursework for the major, ensuring that students understand how the plants function in the broader context of the ecosystems: Entomology and Nematology, and Soil, Water, and Ecosystem Sciences.

Statewide offering: The Plant Science Major is offered to both incoming freshmen as well as transfer students through the statewide programs at Gainesville’s main campus, the Fort Lauderdale Research and Education Center, the Mid-Florida Research and Education Center in Apopka, or the West Florida Research and Education Center in Milton.  


The Plant Science Team is here to provide guidance through your academic journey, so please reach out and connect!

Plant Science Director

Dina Liebowitz

Dr. Dina Liebowitz

(352) 294-1780

The University of Florida
2550 Hull Road, Rm. 1511 (W.M. Fifield Hall)
Gainesville, FL 32611-0670

Academic Advisor

Jeanie Houk

Jeanie Houk

(352) 273-4573

The University of Florida
2550 Hull Road, Rm. 1137 (W.M. Fifield Hall)
PO Box 110670 
Gainesville, FL 32611-0670


Plant Science Steering Committee

Dr. Tolulope Agunbiade (Entomology and Nematology)

Erin Alvarez (Environmental Horticulture)

Dr. Kara Casy (Agronomy)

Dr. Greg MacDonald (Agronomy)

Dr. Gabriel Maltais-Landry (Soil, Water, and Ecosystem Science)

Dr. Samuel Martins (Plant Pathology)

Dr. Kimberly Moore (Environmental Horticulture)

Dr. Gerardo Nunez (Horticultural Sciences)

Dr. Brian Pearson (Environmental Horticulture)

Dr. Brantlee Spakes-Richter (Plant Pathology)

 Dr. Mack Thetford (Environmental Horticulture)

Dr. Xin Zhao (Horticultural Sciences)